AGOSCI Conference – Presentation Success

The day had finally come.  It was time for me to present my paper AAC Journey – Connecting with Success.   This was the story of our daughter’s AAC journey to date.  What has worked and hasn’t worked for us.  How she is connecting to the community with success including how I have set up her iPad to communicate when her signing or speech isn’t an option for her.

My husband and daughter arrived to watch me along with some supportive people that I have met along our journey.  It was an amazing experience standing in front of a group of people who were there to listen to me and were interested in sharing our story.  I only hope they enjoyed and learnt something from our journey.

To start my presentation I asked my daughter to come up with me and introduce herself using her iPad and tell everyone how old she was.  I then asked her what her favourite TV shows were.  She signed ‘I’ for iCarly and said Spongebob.  I wanted to demonstrate how she uses her different modes of communicating depending on what works for her.

I explained to everyone my daughter’s multimodal approach to communicating and how this enables her to succeed in an expanding number of social situations.  Her limited speech, signing, gestures and body language are her preferred methods of communicating however she now has the iPad to compliment these methods.

I was really happy with how my presentation went and received some great feedback.

Congratulations and thank you to all the organisers of the Agosci Conference.  I had a fantastic time and met some truly inspirational people.

Over the next week I look forward to sharing with you some of my experiences from the conference.

Leave a Reply

